5 Books to Read if You Love Pride and Prejudice

“But for my own part, if a book is well written, I always find it too short.”
- Jane Austen

Ah, there never was a truer quote for a reader than the one above!
As all ardent fans of "Pride and Prejudice" know, one read-through is never enough.

However, after numerous readings of "Pride and Prejudice" and consuming the rest of Miss Austen's major and minor works, sometimes picking up a new book seems to fall a bit flat in comparison, and we can find ourselves left in a quandary of what to read next.

So, if you’re on the hunt for more Austen-esque stories,
I have compiled a list of five books/authors that I have found to be similar in one way or another to Jane Austen's “Pride and Prejudice”.

 

 "I know he has read the Vicar of Wakefield. He never read the Romance of the Forest, nor
The Children of the Abbey. He had never heard of such books before I mentioned them,
but he is determined to get them now as soon as ever he can."⁠
- Jane Austen, Emma⁠

  1: The Vicar of Wakefield 

By Oliver Goldsmith

This regency classic, published in 1766, was widely read and popular for its time.

The story begins when a financial catastrophe falls upon the Primrose family.
After the vicar takes a job in a new, humble parish, the family befriends the charming Squire Thornhill and eccentric Mr. Burchell. Hilarity and drama quickly ensues!

 Much like Miss Austen’s works, Goldsmith’s sarcastic humor never fails to amuse.
He has characters just as quirky as Mrs. Bennet and a villain as dastardly as the tricky Mr. Wickham. 

It is a delightful read and is often mentioned in classic literature by writers such as Charles Dickens, Louisa May Alcott and even Jane Austen herself!

Shop Vicar of Wakefield book


 
  “I know you despise me; allow me to say, it is because you do not understand me.”
Elizabeth Gaskell, North and South
 
 2: North and South

By Elizabeth Gaskell

This 1855 novel follows the heroine, Margaret Hale, who is left trying to cope with her new surroundings after her father suddenly quits his profession as vicar and moves the family from the spacious south of England to the industrial north of Milton.

Margaret finds herself struggling to navigate between the different customs and manners of the north and her beloved south. She becomes embroiled in the politics of the local factory workers and begins to champion their cause. This creates some strained relationships particularly with Mr. John Thornton, a local factory owner and good friend of her father.

In true Victorian fashion this book is a bit more dramatic and sentimental than Austen's works and I definitely recommend reading with a tissue in hand for there are numerous deaths. 😭

  However, the similarities that these two authors share are: brilliant story plots, excellent character growth, and intriguing romances.

I think fans of "Pride and Prejudice" will enjoy Margarete Hale and Mr. Thornton's relationship as they struggle with preconceived notions of each other - their pride and prejudices - much like another couple we know and adore. 📖👀😂

Shop North and South book

 

3: Friendship and Folly

By Meredith Allady

This regency styled novel begins by recounting the history of the good-natured Parry family. Through a roundabout series of circumstances, they decide to travel from their country abode and stay in London, where they will introduce their eldest daughter, Julia Parry, and her close friend, Ann Northcott, into London society.

As the two girls experience London for the first time, they are introduced to an interesting pair of Irish brothers who could not be more opposite in nature. Sir Warrington, the eldest brother, is baronet of a prosperous estate. With his simple and childlike disposition, Sir Warrington quickly becomes besotted with the entire Parry family; while his younger brother, Mr. Edmund Lenox, a serious, well-spoken gentlemen, remains cold and unfriendly – particularly to Miss Julia Parry.

Ann Northcott cannot bear to see her friends snubbed, so she decides to take matters into her own hands in an effort to uncover the secret behind these brothers’ motives. And thus begins a series of misunderstandings - all in the cause of friendship!

This novel was first published in the early 2000s and would be considered historical fiction, however, Miss Allady's grasp of the regency language and history causes this book to read more like a genuine regency novel written during the time.

I have never read anything from this modern era that is so close to Austen's writing style. The beginning is a little slow-paced as Miss Allady lays a lot of ground work introducing numerous characters, but once the plot begins to pick up the book is hard to put down.

Shop Friendship and Folly book


“There is no happiness in love, except at the end of an English novel.”
Anthony Trollope, Barchester Towers

4: The Chronicles of Barsetshire

By Anthony Trollope

The Chronicles of Barsetshire is actually a six novel series
published between 1855 and 1867.

  There are elements of these books that remind me of the sarcasm and humor of Charles Dickens, only replace the slums of London for a cast of curates and landowners set in the English countryside in the fictional town of Barchester.  
 
Trollope leaves very few surprises and often informs the reader of the upcoming bends in the road before you are upon them, not relying heavily on plot twists, but more on human nature and his humorous social commentary to carry the story along.  
 
The setting of these books feels very similar to Jane Austen's novels, and the romances are sweet as well as humorous. Each story is wrapped up very satisfactorily and,
for the most part, has a happy ending.
 
So far I am half-way through the series and enjoying it immensely.
If you would like to read a synopsis on the first two books in the series
you can read my post HERE.

Shop the Chronicles of Barsetshire books

“There is nothing so mortifying as to fall in love with someone who does not share one's sentiments.”
Georgette Heyer, Venetia

5: Georgette Heyer

Georgette Heyer’s writing career spanned from the 1920s through to the 1970s.
Her attention to historical details is exquisite, and she actually forged the genre of historical fiction that we know of today.

Heyer is particularly well-known for her witty and amusing, regency romances. 

I have only begun to touch the surface of this prolific writer and have just finished reading my first novel of hers called "The Toll-Gate" which is a mystery/regency romance.

The clever banter made for a quick read that I thoroughly enjoyed, and I have plans to read "Cotillion" next.

I would love to know if you have read Heyer, and, if so,
 what are some of your favorite titles?

Shop Georgette Heyer books


While no one can ever truly replicate Miss Austen's writing style,
I hope you enjoy perusing some of the works of these talented authors. 
 
And if you would like to incorporate a little bit of Austen into your reads, new or old, you can find these lovely regency bookmarks in our shop. Each design features a regency couple paired with a Jane Austen quote.

You can find these bookmarks HERE.

I would love to know if you have read any of these authors and their works!
Or do you have any book suggestions that are similar to Pride and Prejudice?

Feel free to leave some recommendations down in the comments below,
I always love discovering new authors!






 

0 Comments

All comments are moderated before being published.